How I Stay Motivated And Inspired-It’s Not Always Easy!

Standard

5cca71c490f6654339c49eff27d7415d

 

In a few short days I will begin another school year. My 21st as an educator to be exact! Hard to believe! I have learned a few things along the way. Each group of students has different learning styles and goals for instance. What makes it exciting is that with each new school year comes a “clean slate.” What could be better than a chance to begin again? This is what each of us, no matter our age, deserves in our lives.This idea of  a “clean slate” ties in with a post I wrote, entitled “September 1st the new January 1st.”

My message, at this time, for the students I teach and for my own children has similar undertones:

1) Be prepared    2)Be committed    3)Always strive to do your best    4)Be true to who you are    5)You do not have to be friends with everyone but you do have to respect everyone    6)Stay motivated    7)Stay inspired

The idea of staying motivated and inspired keeps things fresh and exciting. I, myself, never wanted to fall into a position either professionally or personally where I would feel stagnate or in a rut. For instance, I switched grade levels 3 years ago because I wanted to challenge myself and I felt the need for a new perspective. In my personal life, there have been challenging circumstances which sometimes felt like two steps forward equals two steps back. The way to survive and thrive, through those circumstances, is to keep pressing forward. Taking a deep breath and appreciating the moment are also two necessary steps. A prayer of thanks, for all of the blessings in my life at the moment, is a must!

What also helps me to stay motivated are the people in my life. We all need that inspiration that comes from those we love. In my position I am fortunate to work with a small, wonderful group of people, in my wing, that encourage and support one another. This can be rare in a work place setting sometimes. My family motivates me each day and I want to be a great role model and example for my children. I see strength, perseverance, and love in my parents and that motivates me to be the best parent I can be for my children. In my life, as in all our lives, I have had some friends come and go but I have a core group and I am also blessed that I have had old friends come back into my life recently such as my friend, Nancy and a childhood friend, Malaika, who has been an encouraging and motivating force in the last several months.

To be honest, it will never be in my nature to go cliff diving or anything real extreme to get inspired or motivated but on the other hand, I will not forget about the smaller ways to stay motivated and inspired. They are all around we just have to be aware of them. Those, smaller ways, have the power to move mountains and change outlooks, too!

3 thoughts on “How I Stay Motivated And Inspired-It’s Not Always Easy!

  1. I love the quote in the photo. Did you write that? It’s just what I needed to read today.

    Good luck with the new teaching year. I come from a family of teachers, so you have my utmost respect. Thank you for visiting my site. Much appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very powerful post I must say. I teach Sunday school and I always appreciate teachers. I also love the picture quote, outstanding! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my site, appreciate your visit.
    Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

